Wk 14 – Drawing 2 – Sketching in the Japanese Garden

I love any excuse to go to the Japanese Garden on campus because it’s so peaceful there. One of my favorite things about it is that when you look up there are no power lines, or planes or anything like that in view. All you see is the blue sky, and maybe some clouds or birds.

I’m not very good at drawing unless I have something sitting in front of me that doesn’t move (usually a picture that I just copy). However, I was pretty pleased with the sketches I made today. I chose to put my favorites below. My two favorites are the ones on the left: the 5 minute sketch and the abstract sketch. The 5 minute one turned out a lot better than I thought it would; when I started I was just making shapes that looked like what I was seeing, but I didn’t think it would turn out the way it did. The abstract one was an idea that I got inspired by looking at some abstract paintings where geometric shapes were used to create something bigger. I followed the shape of the pond and then added some shapes that represented the things that were in the pond

Leave a Reply

