Wk 12 – Ethnography: Pre-electric cultures

I wasn’t able to get a full night of no electricity, but I did have the afternoon and some of the evening where the electricity was out. They were doing some construction on the power lines so the power was out for most of the day. I spent the time reading on the couch that is shown in the picture below. If I had done this at night I probably would have read by candlelight because there’s something special about being able to read by the flickering light of a candle.

One of the biggest things I noticed is how many different things run on electricity. I was going to make food and I had to remind myself that the oven and microwave wouldn’t work so I had to think of something else to eat. The second big thing I noticed was the lack of music. I’m almost always listening to music no matter what I’m doing at any point of the day so to not have music playing was strange.

It was nice to just be able to sit and read for a while because I don’t often have a lot of time to do so with everything I have going on. I think having times without electricity would be really nice. Although I would probably allow some kind of music to be played.

20170423_165555

Leave a Reply

